Cape Town - South Africa

South Africa flag
Gallery icon
Map icon

Cape Town, Cape Town and is one of the three capitals of South Africa. Cape Town is the capital of the legislature of South Africa. Cape Town is located in south-west of South Africa and is the southernmost city in the country. Cape Town has over 3 million inhabitants and is one of the largest cities in South Africa. Table Mountain is very characteristic of Cape Town and attracts millions of visitors a year. In Cape Town, the people speak multiple languages, including Afrikaans, English and Xhosa.

Cape Town has a rich history. There are signs found during excavations of more than 100,000 years ago. In more recent history Cape Town had a role in the trade route from Europe to India. In 1488 Portuguese navigators first set foot ashore at Mossel Bay in search of a route to India. Later in history the Cape in Cape Town was a refilling station for sailors.
In 1647 a group of Dutch stranded on the Cape and they stayed for one year. They were the first people to connect with the Khoikhoi, the local population. And in January 1650 Jan van Rietbeeck settled on the cape with a refreshment station for the VOC. And the Cape was named the Cape of Good Hope.
Because of this history, now a large part of South Africa speaks Afrikaans. The Afrikaans is very similar to Dutch.

Attractions in Cape Town are the penguin colony at Boulders Beach on the Cape and Robben Island. Robben Island is the island where Nelson Mandela was held in prison for 27 years.
The Victoria and Alfred Waterfront are also one of the major attractions of Cape Town in South Africa.

See what we have been up to in Cape Town, look in the left menu.

Gallery iconTop icon
© 2001 - 2021 divider Disclaimer Privacy