Walking in the Canary Islands - Spain

Canary islands flag
Gallery icon
Map icon

The Canary Islands are a group of islands belonging to Spain and lying west of the coast of Marocco. Because of it's location of Marocco it has a north African climat. Because of this it's about 20 degrees Celsius during the whole year.

The Canary Islands consist of the following islands: Gran Canaria, Tenerife, La Gomera, La Palma, El Hierro, Lanzarote and Fuertaventura.

The Canary Islands are vulcanic in origin. The most famous vocano is probably the Pico del Teide on Tenerife (3718 m).

The Canary Islands are divided in 2 provinces: Las Palmas (capitol: Las Palmas (Gran Canaria) and Santa Crus de Tenerife (capitol: Santa Cruz de Tenerife.

On the Canary Islands we try to rent casita's (holiday homes) as much as possible. We went to a casita (holiday home) on La Gomera and and an appartment on Tenerife during september of 2003. In 2005 we spent two weeks in a finca (holiday home) in Fataga on Gran Canaria. And in 2008 we spent a week in a casita (holiday home) in El Paso on La Palma. In the menu's below you will find more information about what we did on these islands.

Gallery iconTop icon
© 2001 - 2021 www.sanmarkotravel.com divider Disclaimer Privacy